CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a virtual meeting of the **Council** held on Tuesday, 4th May, 2021

PRESENT

Councillor B Burkhill Councillor S Edgar

Councillors Q Abel, M Addison, S Akers Smith, M Asquith, R Bailey, J Barber, M Beanland, M Benson, L Braithwaite, J Bratherton, S Brookfield, D Brown, C Browne, J Buckley, C Bulman, P Butterill, S Carter, J Clowes, S Corcoran, L Crane, S Davies, T Dean, D Edwardes, B Evans, H Faddes, A Farrall, JP Findlow, K Flavell, R Fletcher, T Fox, A Gage, S Gardiner, L Gilbert, M Goldsmith, P Groves, S Handley, A Harewood, G Hayes, S Hogben, S Holland, M Houston, M Hunter, L Jeuda, A Kolker, C Leach, I Macfarlane, N Mannion, D Marren, A Martin, A Moran, R Moreton, B Murphy, D Murphy, J Nicholas, K Parkinson, J Parry, S Pochin, B Puddicombe, P Redstone, J Rhodes, J Saunders, M Sewart, M Simon, L Smetham, J Smith, D Stockton, A Stott, L Wardlaw, M Warren, J Weatherill, P Williams, J Wray and N Wylie

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors A Critchley, A Gregory, D Jefferay, L Roberts, L Smith, and R Vernon.

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

It was noted that Councillor Sarah Pochin and Councillor David Marren had a personal interest in the appointment of Mayor and of Deputy Mayor, respectively.

3 ELECTION OF MAYOR 2021/22

Council was requested to elect a Mayor for the Borough of Cheshire East for 2021-2022 Municipal Year, who would also act as Chairman of the Council for that period.

It was proposed by Councillor Toni Fox, seconded by Councillor Mike Hunter that Councillor Sarah Pochin be elected as Mayor for 2021-2022 Municipal Year.

The motion was put to the vote and declared carried with 71 votes for, 0 against and 4 not voting.

RESOLVED

That Councillor Sarah Pochin be elected Mayor of the Borough of Cheshire East for the year 2021-2022 Municipal Year and be appointed as Chairman of the Council for that period.

The Mayor was invested with her chain of office and took the oath of loyalty.

(Councillor Pochin, as Mayor, took the chair).

4 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR 2021/22

Council was requested to appoint a Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Cheshire East for the year 2021-2022 Municipal Year, who would also act as Vice-Chairman of the Council for that period.

It was proposed by Councillor Arthur Moran, seconded by Councillor Joy Bratherton that Councillor David Marren be appointed as Deputy Mayor for 2021-2022 Municipal Year.

The motion was put to the vote and declared carried with 71 votes for, 0 against and 3 not voting.

RESOLVED:

That Councillor David Marren be appointed as Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Cheshire East for the year 2021-2022 Municipal Year and as Vice-Chairman of the Council for that period.

The Deputy Mayor thanked the Council for appointing him as Deputy Mayor and took the oath of office.

5 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 19 April 2021 be approved as a correct record subject to the following amendment:

Minute 54 – Leader's and Deputy Leader's Announcements

Second bullet point be amended to say, "was shocked to read that only 52% of people properly self-isolated when required to do so."

6 ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Nominations were invited for the election of the Leader of the Council.

It was proposed by Councillor Carol Bulman and Seconded by Councillor Craig Brown that Councillor Sam Corcoran be elected as the Leader of the Council for the 2021-2022 Municipal Year.

The motion was put to the vote and declared carried with 42 votes for, 9 against and 24 not voting.

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Sam Corcoran be elected as Leader of the Council for the 2021-2022 Municipal Year.

7 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Nominations were invited for the appointment of the Deputy Leader of the Council.

It was proposed by Councillor Amanda Stott and seconded by Councillor Sam Corcoran that Councillor Craig Browne be appointed as the Deputy Leader of the Council for the 2021-2022 Municipal Year.

The motion was put to the vote and declared carried with 39 votes for, 3 against and 32 not voting.

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Craig Browne be appointed as Deputy Leader of the Council for the 2021-2022 Municipal Year.

8 POLITICAL REPRESENTATION ON THE COUNCIL'S COMMITTEES

Consideration was given to a report relating to the political representation the Council's Committees and addressed the changes which were required following the recent joining of the Independent Group of a previously non-grouped independent councillor.

The recommendation was moved and seconded and put to the vote and declared carried with 70 votes for, 0 against and 4 not voting.

RESOLVED:

That the political group and other representation, as set out in the Appendix to the report (circulated separately) and the methods, calculations and conventions used in determining this, as outlined in the report, be adopted, and the allocation of places to Committees be approved.

9 ALLOCATIONS OF CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS OF COMMITTEES

Consideration was given to the allocation of Chairmanships and Vice-Chairmanships of the Council's decision-making and other bodies.

The Appendix to the report had been circulated which set out the nominations for Chair and Vice-Chair for each committee.

The allocations of and the nominations for Chairs and Vice-Chairs were moved and seconded and put to the vote. The motion was declared carried with 43 votes for, 0 against and 32 not voting.

RESOLVED:

That the office of Chair and Vice-Chair be allocated to those members as listed in the circulated Appendix.

10 APPOINTMENTS TO THE ADOPTION PANEL AND THE FOSTERING PANEL

Consideration was given to a report inviting Council to approve a number of appointments to Statutory Panels which did not fall within the definition of "Committee" for the purpose of legislation.

It was moved and seconded that Councillor Brain Puddicombe be appointed to the Adoption Panel and that Councillor Carol Bulman be appointed to the Fostering Panel.

The motion was put to the vote and was declared carried with 62 votes for, 0 against and 13 not voting.

RESOLVED

- 1. That Councillor Brian Puddicombe be appointed to the Adoption Panel; and
- 2. That Councillor Carol Bulman be appointed to the Fostering Panel.

11 APPOINTMENTS TO THE CHESHIRE POLICE AND CRIME PANEL AND THE CHESHIRE FIRE AUTHORITY

Consideration was given to a report inviting Council to make appointments to the Cheshire Fire Authority and the Cheshire Police and Crime Panel. Council was asked to appoint eight Councillors to the Cheshire Fire Authority and to appoint three Councillors and a nominated substitute to the Cheshire Police and Crime Panel.

The nominations for the Cheshire Police and Crime Panel and the Cheshire Fire Authority were moved and seconded and put to the vote.

The motion was declared carried with 67 votes for, 1 against and 7 not voting.

RESOLVED: That

- 1 Councillors Paul Findlow, Laura Jeuda and Mick Warren be appointed to the Cheshire Police and Crime Panel, with Councillor Denis Murphy as named substitute.
- 2 Councillors Cllrs Rachel Bailey, Michael Beanland, David Brown, Marilyn Houston, Nick Mannion, Rob Moreton, James Nicholas and Jonathan Parry be appointed to the Cheshire Fire Authority.

The meeting commenced at 5.00 pm and concluded at 6.38 pm

Councillor S Pochin MAYOR/CHAIRMAN